Hill-Stead Museum



Hours: House open for tours year-round: 10 am – 4 pm (last tour of the day begins at 3 pm). Grounds daily 7:30 am-5:30 pm. for plein air painting, walks, cross-country skiing. Closed Mondays & major holidays.

Hill-Stead is noted for its 1901 33,000-square-foot house filled with art and antiques. Pioneering female architect Theodate Pope Riddle designed the Colonial Revival-style house, set on 152 hilltop acres, to showcase the Impressionist masterpieces amassed by her father, Cleveland iron industrialist Alfred A. Pope. Collections in 19 intact rooms include original furnishings, paintings by Claude Monet, Edgar Degas, Édouard Manet, James M. Whistler and Mary Cassatt, as well as numerous works on paper and Japanese woodblock prints. Stately trees, seasonal gardens, over three miles of stone walls and woodland trails accent the grounds. A centerpiece of the property is the c. 1920 sunken garden designed by landscape architect Beatrix Jones Farrand, today the site of the acclaimed summerlong Sunken Garden Poetry and Music Festival.